In Memoriam: Eric Zucker


Our classmate and good friend passed away.
Eric Zucker passed away after a bout with brain cancer.
Eric at Reseda: King Regent, Ephebian, Boys Vice President, Alcuins President, Interact President,
American Legion Award, Cross Country team 3 years, Boys’ State, Reseda High School Faculty Scholarship.
After Reseda, Eric went to UCLA, then on to Hofstra University School of Law.
He was a Los Angeles County deputy public defender.
Survivors include his wife Donna, their three children, and Eric’s brother Mark. Other schools Eric attended: Newcastle Avenue Elementary Class of 1971, and Sequoia Junior High Class of 1974, both schools in Reseda.
Eric was 48.

Thank you Eric for sharing your strength, wit, humor, kindness, courage, and amazing life.
We will miss you.

Daniel Shudo
Reseda Class of 1977

smallflare.jpg

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Debbie Mollner  On March 25, 2008 at 10:11 am

    Although we all knew Eric Zucker in varying degrees and in our own ways, WE ALL KNEW ERIC.

    Whether we were very close to him and had daily interactions or only saw him at reunions every 10 years, WE ALL KNEW ERIC.

    He had a smile that would light up a room and a laugh that was infectious.

    Whether we knew him as a friend or just a classmate. Whether we cheered his athletic prowess on the Cross Country Course or only were entertained by his antics as yell leader and King Regent on the sidelines of football games on friday nights, WE ALL KNEW ERIC.

    He had a face you could never forget and the kind of character that you were honored to have known.

    Whether he was debating his point with passion or just telling you the latest joke. Whether he was impressing you with his keen intellect or his overwhelming desire to help his fellow man, WE ALL KNEW ERIC.

    What we don’t know is how his wife and family will be forever changed by his absence, how horribly his friends, co-workers and classmates will miss him, how many more people he would have touched and helped in his lifetime, how much more he would have done, how his grandchildren would have loved him.

    What we do know is how blessed we all were to have known Eric and been touched by him in some way.

    WE ALL KNEW ERIC WAS SPECIAL.

    We will miss him terribly.

    Debbie Mollner
    1977 Reseda High School Classmate

  • Ron Kaye  On March 29, 2008 at 9:09 am

    Thank you so much. Tears are rolling down my face. Eric was one of my best friends in the world. We lived together, took the bar exam together, became progressive lawyers together, courted our wives together, and raised our children together. While studying for the bar, we ran almost every day in Santa Monica. As we went up the California Incline, he would always kick my butt. He reminisced about his dad encouraging him as he ran up “Hernia Hill” during races for Reseda High. Now I have a photo of his beauty and endurance as a Reseda High runner to cherish for the rest of my life.

    I will try and incorporate his compassion and generosity into my life — he will live on through all of us.

    thank you again,

    Ron Kaye

  • Tee Newman  On March 29, 2008 at 7:08 pm

    I only knew Eric in H.S., but I have never forgotten him. He made me laugh and was always smiling. He was incredibly sweet – and it doesn’t surprise me that he was so very loved. My 11-year-old daughter asked, “was he a nice guy, Mama?” “Oh yes,” I answered, “he was more than nice, he was a bright star, all the time.” My deepest condolences to his brother, Mark, who I hung out with in H.S. as well, and to the rest of his family. God Bless, Tee (Terese Newman)

  • Karen Hunt  On June 26, 2008 at 11:52 pm

    Eric Zucker was one of the finest people I have ever known. For a time he was on the board of InsideOUT Writers, a creative writing program for incarcerated youth. He stood up passionately for justice for incarcerated youth. He was not afraid to speak out for what was right even when it was unpopular with those who held positions of power. He was a voice for the voiceless. He was an example and an inspiration to me and I will never forget him.
    Karen Hunt Co-founder and former President of InsideOUT Writers

  • Doug Schwab  On January 10, 2009 at 8:28 pm

    While it has been many years since I last saw Eric so many memories of him came rushing forward when I stumbled upon this web site a couple of days ago. I knew Eric because I worked with his father, Max, publishing a magazine for young track and field athletes during the seventies, a friendship that lasted until Max’s death in 1985 Eric must have been about 12 when we first met. Even at that age he was clever, irreverent, affecionate, and very funny, but I don’t have to tell you his friends about all of his special qualities. Just like his father and mother, Eric has left us much to soon. I last saw Eric in Seattle where if I recall correctly he was for some reason that now escapes me taking a class at the University of Washington and was either trying to or actually having sex with half the women he was working with at the time. I never knew for sure with Eric, but it never really mattered, his stories were just as good either way.

    After that we went our separate ways. I don’t really know why I typed his name into my brouser the other night but I did and, of course, the awful news of his death last February poped up on my screen and slapped me right across the face. I cried for a while, and then read all that had been written and posted here about Eric. Especially what his brother Mark had said at his funeral. It all rang so true about this dear man, this loving husband, this father to what looks like three absolutely adorable children.

    Maybe it was simply because Eric was the kind of person you can never forget. He was truly a unique spirit, a rightous goof ball, a social conscience, a lover of life, and a friend to so many. I miss him too.

Leave a Reply

